We are committed to ensuring the education and well-being of students

The Council of Historically Black Graduate Schools (CHBGS) was founded in 1970 to support and promote graduate education at historically black colleges and universities (HBCUS).

CHBGS offers benefits for member institutions as well for the graduate students served by the membership. Through CHBGS, members are able to: increase doctoral and master’s degree production among .African-American students; make a difference in the lives and futures of poor students and first generation students; and, to educate underserved populations because of the importance of an enlightened citizenry in a democracy.

Executive Committee Members

We are proud of our committed and diverse staff driven by our common goal to create lasting wellbeing for community

Dr. Mary Owens Southall
  • President | Dean | Graduate School
  • Coppin State University
  • 2500 West North Avenue Baltimore, MD 21216
  • (410) 951-3090
Dr. David H. Jackson, Jr.
  • Provost and Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs
  • North Carolina Central University (NCCU)
  • 801 Fayetteville St.
    Shepard Administration Building, Room 312
    Durham, NC 27707
  • (919) 530-6230
Dr. Mark Garrison
  • Treasurer | Dean | Graduate School
  • Morgan State University
    School of Graduate Studies
  • 1700 East Cold Spring Lane Baltimore, MD 21253
  • (443) 885-3185
Dr. Reginald K. Ellis, Jr.
  • Secretary | Assistant Dean | Graduate School
  • Florida A&M University
  • 515 Orr Drive. 462 Tucker Hall
    Tallahassee, FL 32307
  • (850) 599-3447
Dr. Cosmas U. Nwokeafor
  • Immediate Past President | Dean | Graduate School
  • Bowie State University
  • 1400 Jericho Park Road
    Bowie, MD 20715
  • (301) 860-3406 (office)