Home     About Us     Membership     Member Sites     Conferences     Program     Awards     Contact
Strategic Plan
CHBGS Constitution
Membership Application
PDF Downloads
For Students
Council of Southern Graduate Schools
Council of Graduate Schools
Graduate Deans Summit



Questions relating to the organization and website should be directed to:

Dr. Cosmas U. Nwokeafor
Dean, Graduate School
Bowie State University
14000 Jericho Park Road
Bowie, MD 20715

     

Member Institutions

The Council of Historically Black Graduate Schools

Full Members
Associate Members
Partners

Full Members

Alabama A & M University
Dr. Derrek B. Dunn, Professor
Associate Vice President Academic Administration
Dean, School of Graduate Studies
Patton Hall, Room 300
4900 Meridian Street North
Normal, AL 35762
CELL: (336) 337-5068
TEL: (256) 372-8752
FAX: (256) 372-5269
EMAIL: derrek.dunn@aamu.edu

Alabama State University
Dr. William A. Person
Dean, The Harold Lloyd Murphy Graduate School
915 S. Jackson Street
Montgomery, AL 36104
TEL: 334/229-4275
EMAIL: wperson@alasu.edu

Albany State University
Dr. Kevin Williams
Dean, Graduate School
Graduate School
Academic Building, 504 College Drive
Albany, GA 31705
TEL: 518-956-8030
FAX: 229-430-6395
EMAIL: kwilliams@albany.edu

Alcorn State University
Dr. John Igwebuike
Dean, School of Graduate Studies
1000 ASU Drive 689
Alcorn State, MS 39096
TEL: 601-877-3995
FAX: 601-877-6995
EMAIL: jigwe@alcorn.edu

Bowie State University
Dr. Cosmos U. Nwokeafor
Dean, Graduate School
Bowie State University
1400 Jericho Park Road
Bowie, MD 20715-9465
TEL: 301-860-3406
FAX:301-860-3414
EMAIL: cnwokeafor@bowiestate.edu

Chicago State University
Dr. Justin Akujieze
Dean, School of Graduate and Professional Studies
Chicago State University
9501 South Martin Luther King Drive/LIB 338
Chicago, IL 60628
TEL: 773-995-2404
FAX: 773-995-3671
EMAIL: g-studies1@csu.edu

Dr. Anitra Ward
Associate Provost
Chicago State University
9501 South Martin Luther King Drive/LIB 338
Chicago, IL 60628
Tel: 773-995-3580
EMAIL: award21@csu.edu

Claflin University
Dr. Verlie Tisdale
Dean of Professional and Continuing Studies
Laymen Hall, Room 109
400 Magnolia Street
Orangeburg, SC 29115
TEL: 803-535-5433
FAX: 803-535-5576
EMAIL: vtisdale@claflin.edu

Clark Atlanta University
Dr. Shirley Williams-Kirksey
Dean, Office of Graduate Studies
223 James P. Brawley Dr.
Atlanta, GA 30314
TEL: (404) 880-8667
EMAIL: skirksey@cau.edu

Clemson University
Dr. Jason Osborne
Dean, Graduate School
Clemson University
E-106 Martin Hall
Clemson, SC 29634
TEL: 864-656-4172
EMAIL: jwo@clemson.edu

Dr. David S. Fleming
Associate Dean, Graduate School
E-106 Martin Hall
Clemson, SC 29634
TEL: 864-656-2878
EMAIL: dflemin@clemson.edu

Coppin State College
Dr. Mary Owens Southall
Dean, Graduate School
Coppin State University
2500 West North Avenue
Baltimore, MD 21216-3698
TEL: 410-951-3090
FAX: 410-951-3092
EMAIL: mowens@coppin.edu

Delaware State University
Dr. Dyremple Marsh
Dean, School of Graduate Studies and Research
1200 N. DuPont Highway
Dover, DE 19901
TEL: 302-857-6400
FAX: 302-857-6799
EMAIL: dmarsh@desu.edu

East Tennessee State University
Dr. Sharon McGee
Dean, School of Graduate Studies
Box 70267
Johnson City, TN 37614-1700
TEL: (423) 439-6147
EMAIL: mcgee@etsu.edu

Elizabeth City State University
Dr. Rasheedah Raynor
Director of Graduate Education
Campus Box 943
1704 Weeksville Road
Elizabeth City, NC 27909
TEL: 252-335-3495
FAX: 252-335-3146
EMAIL: sdraynor@ecsu.edu

Fayetteville State University
Dr. Alison Van Nyhuis
Dean of Graduate School
1200 Murchison Rd
Fayetteville, NC 28301
TEL: 910-672-2506
FAX: 910-672-1941
EMAIL: avannyhu@uncfsu.edu

Florida A&M University
Dr. David H. Jackson
Associate Provost for Graduate Education
Dean of the Graduate College
515 Orr Drive
Tucker Hall Suite 469
Tallahassee, FL 32307
TEL: 850-599-3505
FAX: 850-599-3727
EMAIL: david.jackson@famu.edu

Grambling State University
Antoinette Kelly
Director
PO Box 845
Grambling, LA 71245
TEL: 318-274-2158
FAX: 318-274-7373
EMAIL: kallya@gram.edu

Howard University
Dr. Gary Harris
Dean, Graduate School
4th and College Streets, NW
Washington DC, 20059
TEL: 202-806-4676
FAX: 202-462-4053
EMAIL: gharris@howard.edu

Jackson State University
Dr. Wilbur Walters
Interim Dean, Graduate School
Higher Education Administration
1400 J.R. Lynch Drive
P.O. Box 17095
Jackson, MS 39217
TEL: 601-979-4042
FAX: 601-979-4325
EMAIL: wilbur.l.walters@jsums.edu

Dr. Paul Tchounwou
Associate Dean, Graduate School
1400 J.R. Lynch Drive
P.O. Box 17095
Jackson, MS 39217
TEL: 601-979-0777
FAX: 601-979-4325
EMAIL: paul.b.tchounwou@jsums.edu

Kentucky State University
Dr. James Obielodan
Director of Graduate Studies
Bradford Hall, Room G-19
400 East Main Street
Frankfort, KY 40601
TEL: (502) 597-6915
EMAIL: james.obielodan@kysu.edu

Lincoln University (MO)
Dr. Debra Greene
Dean, School of Graduate Studies and Research
820 Chestnut Street
Jefferson City, MO 65101
TEL: 573-681-5079
EMAIL: greend@lincoln.edu

Meharry Medical College
Dr. Patricia Matthews-Juarez
Director, School of Graduate Studies
1005 D.B. Todd Blvd
Nashville, TN 372089
TEL: 615-327-6526
FAX: 615-327-2933
EMAIL: pmatthews-juarez@mmc.edu

Mississippi State University
Dr. Brien Henry
Dean, School of Graduate Studies and Research
Lee Blvd.
Mississippi State, MS 39762
TEL: 662-325-7400
FAX: 662-325-2323
EMAIL: bhenry@grad.msstate.edu

Mississippi Valley State University
Dr. Rickey Hill
Dean of the Graduate College
Graduate College, MVSU
14000 Hwy. 82 West
PO Box 7307
Itta Bena, MS 38941
TEL: 662-254-3050 or 254-3051
FAX: 662-254-3052
EMAIL: rhill@mvsu.edu

Morgan State University
Dr. Mark Garrison
Interim Dean, School of Graduate Studies
McKeldin Hall, Room 310
1700 E. Cold Spring Lane
Baltimore, MD 21251
TEL: 443-885-1812
FAX: 443-885-8226
EMAIL: mark.garrison@morgan.edu

New Mexico State University
Dr. Luis Cifuentes
Dean, School of Graduate Studies
Las Cruces, NM
TEL: 575-646-3425
FAX: 575-646-0111
EMAIL: lacifuen@nmsu.edu

Norfolk State University
Dr. George Miller III
Dean, Graduate School and Research
700 Park Avenue
Room 203 Wilder Center
Norfolk, VA 23504
TEL: 757-823-8015
FAX: 757-823-2849
EMAIL: gemiller@nsu.edu

Dr. Desi Hacker
Assistant Dean, Graduate School
700 Park Avenue
Norfolk, VA 23504
EMAIL: dshacker@nsu.edu

North Carolina A & T University
Dr. Clay Gloster
Interim Dean
North Carolina A&T State University
1601 East Market Street
Greensboro, NC 27411
TEL: 336-285-2366
EMAIL: cgloster@ncat.edu

Dr. Ayanna Boyd-Williams
Assistant Dean of Graduate Studies
120 Gibbs Hall
1601 East Market Street
Greensboro, NC 27411
TEL: 336-334-7920
FAX: 336-334-7282
EMAIL: ayannabw@ncat.edu

North Carolina Central University
Dr. Jaleh Rezaie
Dean, School of Graduate Studies
School of Graduate Studies
2028 New School of Education Building,
712 Cecil Street, Durham, NC 27707
TEL: 919-530-7396
FAX: 919-530-5310
EMAIL: jrezaie@nccu.edu

Prairie View A & M University
Dr. Tamara Brown
Interim Dean, Graduate School
Wilhelmina F. Deico Building, Suite 120
Prairie View, TX 77446-2800
TEL: 936-261-3512
FAX: 936-261-3529
EMAIL: jrezaie@pvamu.edu

Savannah State University
Dr. Julius Scipio
Director of Graduate Studies
P.O. Box 20243
3219 College Street
Savannah, GA 31401
TEL: 912-358-3201
FAX: 912-358-3168
Email: scipioj@savannahstate.edu

South Carolina State University
Dr. Frederick M.G. Evans, Ed.D.
Interim Dean, School of Graduate Studies
P.O. Box 7098
300 College Street, NE
Orangeburg, SC 29117
TEL: 803-536-7064
FAX: 803-536-8812
EMAIL: gradschool@scsu.edu

Southern University and A&M College
Dr. Habib Mohamadian
Interim Dean, Office of Graduate Studies
1055 Harris Hall
P.O. Box 9860
Baton Rouge, LA 70813
TEL: 225-771-4622
FAX: 225-771-5723
EMAIL: habib_mohamadian@subr.edu

Southern University at New Orleans
Dr. Willie Jones III
Dean, Graduate Studies
6400 Press Drive
New Orleans, LA 70126
TEL: 504-284-5520
FAX: 504-284-5400
EMAIL: wijones@suno.edu

Tennessee State University
Dr. Alex Sekwat
Interim Dean, School of Graduate Studies and Research
3500 John Merritt Blvd
Nashville, TN 37209-1561
TEL: 615-963-2278
FAX: 615-963-5963
EMAIL: asekwat@tnstate.edu

Texas A&M University
Dr. Karen Butler-Perry
Associate Provost, Graduate School
Texas A&M University
P.O. Box 40001 College Station, TX 77842-4001
TEL: 979-845-3631
EMAIL: ogaps@tamu.edu

Texas Southern University
Dr.Gregory Maddox
Dean, Graduate School
3100, Cleburne Avenue
Houston, TX77004
TEL: 713-313-1876
FAX: 713-313-7816
EMAIL: Maddox_gh@tsu.edu

Texas State University
Dr. Andrea Golato
Dean, Graduate School
601 University Drive
San Marcos, Texas 78666-4684
TEL: 512-245-2581
EMAIL: gradcollege@txstate.edu

Texas Technical University
Dr. Mark Sheridan
Dean, Graduate School
2500 Broadway Street
Lubbock, Texas 79409
TEL: 806-834-5537
EMAIL: mark.sheridan@ttu.edu

University of Alabama at Huntsville
Dr. David Berkowitz
Dean, Graduate School
301 Sparkman Drive
Huntsville, AL 35899
TEL: 256-824-6952
EMAIL: david.berokwitz@uah.edu

University of Arkansas - Pine Bluff
Dr. George Herts
Interim Dean
Office of Graduate Studies & Continuing Education
UAPB-Slot 4803
Pine Bluff, AR 71601
TEL: 870-575-8316
FAX: 870-575-4632 EMAIL: hertsg@uapb.edu

Dr Linda Joshua
Professor, School of Education
University of Arkansas at Pine Bluff
1200 University Drive
Pine Bluff, AR 71601
TEL:870-575-8246

University of Florida
Dr. Henry Frierson
Dean of Graduate Studies and Research
Gainesville, FL 32611
TEL: 352-392-7012
EMAIL: hfrierson@ufl.edu

University of Maryland Eastern Shore
Dr. LaKeisha Harris
Interim Dean, School of Graduate Studies
University of Maryland Eastern Shore
Child Development Center Suite 1137
Princess Anne, 21853
TEL: 410-651-6080
FAX: 410-651-7571
EMAIL: llharris@umes.edu

University of the District of Columbia
Dr. Beverly Karplus Hartline
Dean of Graduate Studies and Research
4200 Connecticut Avenue NW
Washington D.C. 20008
TEL: (202) 274-7075
EMAIL: bhartline@udc.edu

University of Georgia
Dr. Suzanne Barbour
Dean of Graduate Studies and Research
Athens, GA 30602
TEL: 706-542-6392
EMAIL: graddean@uga.edu

Dr Ronald Walcott
Associate Dean of Graduate Studies and Research
Athens, GA 30602
TEL: 706-542-6394
EMAIL: gradassociatedean@uga.edu

University of North Texas
Dr. Joseph Oppong
Dean of Graduate Studies and Research
1155 Union Circle #311277
Denton, Texas 76203
TEL: 940-565-2181
EMAIL: joseph.oppong@unt.edu

University of Tennessee, Knoxville
Dr. Dixie Thompson
Dean of Graduate Studies and Research
Knoxville, Tennessee 37996
TEL: 865-974-2475
EMAIL: gradschooldean@utk.edu

Dr. Ernest Brothers
Associate Dean of Graduate Studies and Research
Knoxville, Tennessee 37996
TEL: 865-974-3634
EMAIL: ebrothers@utk.edu

University of Texas at Arlington
Dr. Raymond Jackson
Associate Dean of Graduate Studies and Research
701 S. Nedderman Drive
Arlington, TX 76019
TEL: 817-272-2011
EMAIL: jackson@uta.edu

Univeristy of Texas El Paso
Dr. Charles Ambler
Dean of Graduate Studies and Research
500 West University Avenue
El Paso, TX 79968
TEL: 915-747-5491
EMAIL: cambler@utep.edu

Virginia State University
Dr. James Hunter
Dean of Graduate Studies and Research
Virginia State University
Box 9042
Petersburg, VA 23806
TEL: 804-524-5385
EMAIL: jhunter@vsu.edu

Winston Salem State University
Mr. Jamar Banks
Dean of Graduate Studies & Rsearch
C017 Anderson Center
601 S. Martin Luther King Jr. Drive
Winston-Salem, NC 27110
TEL: 336-750-3352
FAX: 336-750-3042
EMAIL: banksa@wssu.edu

Xavier University of Louisiana
Jean Griffin
Director, Graduate Admissions
1 Drexel
New Orleans, LA 70125
TEL: 504-483-3166
EMAIL: griffinj6@xavier.edu

Yale University School of Nursing
Dr. Ann Kurth
Dean of Graduate Studies
Yale University West Campus
Building 400, Office #11501
300 Heffernan Drive
West Haven, CT 06516
TEL: 203-785-2393
EMAIL: ann.kurth@yale.edu

Associate Members

Arkansas State University
Dr. Andrew Sustich
Dean of the Graduate School
P.O. Box 60
State University, AR  72467
TEL:  870-972-3029
FAX:  870-972-3857
E-MAIL:  sustich@astate.edu

Clemson University
Dr. Jason Osborne
Dean, Graduate School
Clemson University
E-106 Martin Hall
Clemson, SC 29634
TEL: 864-656-4172
EMAIL: jwo@clemson.edu

Dr. David S. Fleming
Associate Dean, Graduate School
E-106 Martin Hall
Clemson, SC 29634
TEL: 864-656-2878
EMAIL: dflemin@clemson.edu

Duke University
Dr. Paula D. McClain
Dean and Vice Provost for Graduate Education
2127 Campus Drive, Box 90067
Durham, NC 27708
TEL: 919-681-1560
FAX: 919-681-8018
EMAIL: grad-gsa@duke.edu

Dr. J. Alan Kendrick
DAssistant Dean for Graduate Student Development
2127 Campus Drive, Box 90070
Durham, NC 27708
TEL: 919-668-0416
FAX: 919-681-8018
EMAIL: alan.kendrick@duke.edu

Loyola University of Chicago
Dr. Samuel Attoh
Dean,Loyola University Chicago Graduate School
25 E. Pearson Rm. 1252
6525 N. Sheridan Road
Chicago, IL 60626
TEL: 773-508-8948
FAX: 773-508-2460
EMAIL: sattoh@luc.edu

Mississippi State University
Dr. Brien Henry
Dean, School of Graduate Studies and Research
Lee Blvd.
Mississippi State, MS 39762
TEL: 662-325-7400
FAX: 662-325-2323
EMAIL: bhenry@grad.msstate.edu

New Mexico State University
Dr. Luis Cifuentes
Dean, School of Graduate Studies
Las Cruces, NM
TEL: 575-646-3425
FAX: 575-646-0111
EMAIL: lacifuen@nmsu.edu

Southern Connecticut State University
Dr. Sandra C. Holley
Dean, School of Graduate Studies
Engleman Hall, Room B018
501 Crescent St.
New Haven, CT. 06515
TEL: 203-392-5240
EMAIL: holleyS1@southernct.edu

Texas A & M University
Dr. Karen Butler-Perry
Associate Provost, Graduate School
Texas A&M University
P.O. Box 40001
College Station, TX 77843-1113
TEL: 979-845-3631
EMAIL: ogaps@tamu.edu

Texas State University
Dr. Andrea Golato
Dean, Graduate School
601 University Drive
San Marcos, TX 78666
TEL: (512) 245-2581
EMAIL: gradcollege@txstate.edu

Texas Tech University
Dr. Mark Sheridan
Dean, Graduate School
2500 Broadway Street
Lubbock, Texas 79409
TEL: 806-834-5537
EMAIL: mark.sheridan@ttu.edu

University of Florida
Dr. Henry Frierson
Dean of the Graduate School
164 Grinter Hall
PO Box 115500
Gainesville, FL, 32611-5500
TEL:  352-392-6622
EMAIL:  hfrierson@ufl.edu

University of Georgia
Dr. Suzanne Barbour
Dean of Graduate Studies and Research
Athens, GA 30602
TEL: 706-542-6392
EMAIL: graddean@uga.edu

Dr. Ronald Walcott
Associate Dean of Graduate Studies and Research
Athens, GA 30602
TEL: 706-542-6394
EMAIL: gradassociatedean@uga.edu

University of North Texas
Dr. Joseph Oppong
Dean of Graduate Studies and Research
1155 Union Circle #311277
Denton, Texas 76203
TEL: 940-565-2181
EMAIL: joseph.oppong@unt.edu

University of Texas at Arlington
Dr. Raymond Jackson
Associate Dean of Graduate Studies and Research
701 S. Nedderman Drive
Arlington, TX 76019
TEL: 817-272-2011
EMAIL: jackson@uta.edu

University of Texas El Paso
Dr. Charles H. Ambler
Associate Vice-president for Graduate Studies
Administration Bldg, Room 200
El Paso, TX 79968-0566
TEL: 915-747-5491
FAX: 915-747-5788
EMAIL: Cambler@UTEP.EDU

University of Wisconsin - Parkside
Dr. Michele V. Gee
Associate Professor of Management
Assistant to the Provost
900 Wood Road, P.O. Box 2000
Kenosha, WS 53141-2000
TEL: 262-595-2304
FAX: 262-595-2680
EMAIL: michele.gee@uwp.edu

Yale University School of Nursing
Dr. Ann Kurth
Dean of Graduate Studies
Yale University West Campus
Building 400, Office #11501
300 Heffernan Drive
West Haven, CT 06516
TEL: 203-785-2393
EMAIL: ann.kurth@yale.edu

Partners

Educational Testing Service
Dr. David Payne
Associate Vice-President
College and Graduate Programs
Rosedale Road, Mail Stop 51-L
Princeton, NJ 08541
TEL: 609/683-2014
EMAIL: dpayne@ets.org

UMI Proquest
Marlene Coles, Ph.D.
Partner Relations Manager
UMI Dissertation Publishing
789 E. Eisenhower Parkway
Ann Arbor, MI 48106
TEL: 800/521-0600 Ext. 2589
EMAIL: marlene.coles@proquest.com

World Education Services
P.O. Box 5087
Bowling Green Station
New York, NY 10274-5087
TEL: 212-219-7330
FAX: 212-739-6151
EMAIL: support@wes.org

© 2005 - 2018 Council of Historically Black Graduate Schools
managed by Dinkum