Home     About Us     Membership     Member Sites     Conferences     Program     Awards     Contact
Strategic Plan
CHBGS Constitution
Membership Application
PDF Downloads
For Students
Council of Southern Graduate Schools
Council of Graduate Schools
Graduate Deans Summit



Questions relating to the organization and website should be directed to:

Dr. William A. Person
Dean, The Harold Lloyd Murphy Graduate School
Alabama State University
915 S. Jackson St
Montgomery, AL 36104

     

Member Institutions

The Council of Historically Black Graduate Schools

Full Members
Associate Members
Partners

Full Members

Alabama A & M University
Dr. Vann Newkirk
Dean, School of Graduate Studies
PO Box 998
Normal, AL 35762
TEL: 256-372-5277
FAX: 256-372-5269
EMAIL: gradschool@aamu.edu

Alabama State University
Dr. William A. Person
Dean, The Harold Lloyd Murphy Graduate School
915 S. Jackson Street
Montgomery, AL 36104
TEL: 334/229-4275
EMAIL: wperson@alasu.edu

Albany State University
Dr. Rani George
Dean, Graduate School
Graduate School
Academic Building, 504 College Drive
Albany, GA 31705
TEL: 229-430-4862
FAX: 229-430-6395
EMAIL: rani.george@asurams.edu

Alcorn State University
Dr. Donzell Lee
Dean,School of Graduate Studies
1000 ASU Drive 689
Alcorn State, MS 39096
TEL: 601-877-3995
FAX: 601-877-6995
EMAIL: dlee@alcorn.edu

Bowie State University
Dr. Cosmos U. Nwokeafor
Dean, Graduate School
Bowie State University
1400 Jericho Park Road
Bowie, MD 20715-9465
TEL: 301-860-3406
FAX:301-860-3414
EMAIL: cnwokeafor@bowiestate.edu

Chicago State University
Dr. Justin Akujieze
Dean, School of Graduate and Professional Studies
Chicago State University
9501 South Martin Luther King Drive/LIB 338
Chicago, IL 60628
TEL: 773-995-2404
FAX: 773-995-3671
EMAIL: g-studies1@csu.edu

Dr. Anitra Ward
Associate Provost
Chicago State University
9501 South Martin Luther King Drive/LIB 338
Chicago, IL 60628
Tel: 773-995-3580
EMAIL: award21@csu.edu

Claflin University
Dr. Janette Bowman
Dean of Professional and Continuing Studies
Laymen Hall, Room 109
400 Magnolia Street
Orangeburg, SC 29115
TEL: 803-535-5575
FAX: 803-535-5576
EMAIL: janbowman@claflin.edu

Clark Atlanta University
Dr. Bettye Clark
Dean, Office of Graduate Studies
223 James P. Brawley Dr.
Atlanta, GA 30314
TEL: (404) 880-8736
EMAIL: bclark@cau.edu

Curtis D. Byrd
Assistant Dean, Office of Graduate Studies
223 James P. Brawley Dr.
Atlanta, GA 30314
TEL: (404) 880-8439
EMAIL: cbyrd@cau.edu

Coppin State College
Dr. Mary Owens Southall
Dean, Graduate School
Coppin State University
2500 West North Avenue
Baltimore, MD 21216-3698
TEL: 410-951-3090
FAX: 410-951-3092
EMAIL: mowens@coppin.edu

Delaware State University
Saundra F. DeLauder, Ph.D.
Dean, School of Graduate Studies and Research
1200 N. DuPont Highway
Dover, DE 19901
TEL: 302-857-6800
FAX: 302-857-6799
EMAIL: sfdelauder@desu.edu

East Tennessee State University
Dr. Cecilia A. McIntosh
Dean, School of Graduate Studies
Box 70267
Johnson City, TN 37614-1700
TEL: (423) 439-6147
FAX: (423) 439-5624
EMAIL: mcintosc@etsu.edu

Elizabeth City State University
Dr. Paula S. Viltz
Director of Graduate Education
Campus Box 943
1704 Weeksville Road
Elizabeth City, NC 27909
TEL: 252-335-3947
FAX: 252-335-3146
EMAIL: graduateeducation@mail.ecsu.edu

Fayetteville State University
Dr. LaDelle Olion
Dean of Graduate School
1200 Murchison Rd
Fayetteville, NC 28301
TEL: 910-672-1681
FAX: 910-672-1941
EMAIL: lolion@uncfsu.edu

Florida A&M University
Dr. David H. Jackson
Associate Provost for Graduate Education
Dean of the Graduate College
515 Orr Drive
Tucker Hall Suite 469
Tallahassee, FL 32307
TEL: 850-599-3505
FAX: 850-599-3727
EMAIL: david.jackson@famu.edu

Fort Valley State University
Anna  R. Holloway, Dean
College of Graduate Studies and Extended Education
Fort Valley State University
1005 State University Drive
Fort Valley, GA 31030

Grambling State University
Dr. Janet A. Guyden
Associate Vice President and Dean
School of Graduate Studies & Research
PO Box 845
Grambling, LA 71245
TEL: 318-274-2475
FAX: 318-274-7373
EMAIL: guyden@gram.edu

Howard University
Dr. Charles Betsey
Interim Dean, Graduate School
4th and College Streets, NW
Washington DC, 20059
TEL: 202-806-6800
FAX: 202-462-4053
EMAIL: cbetsey@howard.edu

Jackson State University
Dr. Dorris R. Robinson-Gardner
Dean, Graduate School & Professor
Higher Education Administration
1400 J.R. Lynch Drive
P.O. Box 17095
Jackson, MS 39217
TEL: 601-979-2455 or 2456
FAX: 601-979-4325
EMAIL: dorris.r.gardner@jsums.edu

Dr. Jeffrey Zubkowski
Associate Dean, Graduate School
1400 J.R. Lynch Drive
P.O. Box 17095
Jackson, MS 39217
TEL: 601-979-2455 or 2456
FAX: 601-979-4325
EMAIL: jeff.zubkowski@jsums.edu

Kentucky State University
Dr. Albert Assibey-Mensah
Director of Graduate Studies
Bradford Hall, Room G-19
400 East Main Street
Frankfort, KY 40601
TEL: (502) 597-6944
EMAIL: albert.assibeymensah@kysu.edu

Meharry Medical College
Dr. Maria F. Lima
Dean, School of Graduate Studies and Research
1005 D.B. Todd Blvd
Nashville, TN 372089
TEL: 615-327-6000
FAX: 615-327-2933
EMAIL: mflima@mmc.edu

Mississippi Valley State University
Dr. Rickey Hill
Dean of the Graduate College
Graduate College, MVSU
14000 Hwy. 82 West
PO Box 7307
Itta Bena, MS 38941
TEL: 662-254-3050 or 254-3051
FAX: 662-254-3052
EMAIL: rhill@mvsu.edu

Morgan State University
Dr. Mark Garrison
Interim Dean, School of Graduate Studies
McKeldin Hall, Room 310
1700 E. Cold Spring Lane
Baltimore, MD 21251
TEL: 443-885-1812
FAX: 443-885-8226
EMAIL: mark.garrison@morgan.edu

Norfolk State University
Dr. George Miller
Dean, Graduate School and Research
700 Park Avenue
Room 203 Wilder Center
Norfolk, VA 23504
TEL: 757-823-8015
FAX: 757-823-2849
EMAIL: gemiller@nsu.edu

Dr. Desi Hacker
Assistant Dean, Graduate School
700 Park Avenue
Norfolk, VA 23504
EMAIL: dshacker@nsu.edu

North Carolina A & T University
Dr. Alan Letton
Interim Associate Vice Chancellor for Research
And Graduate Dean
North Carolina A&T State University
1601 East Market Street
Greensboro, NC 27411
TEL: 336-285-2366
EMAIL: aletton@ncat.edu

Dr. Ayanna Boyd-Williams
Assistant Dean of Graduate Studies
120 Gibbs Hall
1601 East Market Street
Greensboro, NC 27411
TEL: 336-334-7920
FAX: 336-334-7282
EMAIL: ayannabw@ncat.edu

North Carolina Central University
Dr. Percy E. Murray
Dean, School of Graduate Studies
School of Graduate Studies
2028 New School of Education Building,
712 Cecil Street, Durham, NC 27707
TEL: 919-530-7395
FAX: 919-530-5310
EMAIL: pmurray@nccu.edu

Prairie View A & M University
Dr. William H. Parker
Dean, Graduate School
Wilhelmina F. Deico Building, Suite 120
Prairie View, TX 77446-2800
TEL: 936-261-3512
FAX: 936-261-3529
EMAIL: whparker@pvamu.edu

Savannah State University
Dr. Nat Hardy, Director of Graduate Studies
P.O. Box 20243
3219 College Street
Savannah, GA 31401
TEL: 912-358-4195
FAX: 912-358-3168
Email: hardyn@savannahstate.edu

South Carolina State University
Dr. Frederick M.G. Evans, Ed.D.
Interim Dean, School of Graduate Studies
P.O. Box 7098
300 College Street, NE
Orangeburg, SC 29117
TEL: 803-536-7064
FAX: 803-536-8812
EMAIL: gradschool@scsu.edu

Southern University and A&M College
Dr. Joseph Meyinsse
Dean, Office of Graduate Studies
1055 Harris Hall
P.O. Box 9860
Baton Rouge, LA 70813
TEL: 225-771-5390
FAX: 225-771-5723
EMAIL: joseph_meyinsse@subr.edu

Southern University at New Orleans
Dr. Sara Hollis
Dean, Graduate Studies
6400 Press Drive
New Orleans, LA 70126
TEL: 504-284-5846
FAX: 504-284-5400
EMAIL: wbishop@suno.edu

Tennessee State University
Dr. Alex Sekwat
Interim Dean, School of Graduate Studies and Research
3500 John Merritt Blvd
Nashville, TN 37209-1561
TEL: 615-963-2278
FAX: 615-963-5963
EMAIL: asekwat@tnstate.edu

Texas Southern University
Dr.Gregory Maddox
Dean, Graduate School
3100, Cleburne Avenue
Houston, TX77004
TEL: 713-313-1876
FAX: 713-313-7816
EMAIL: Maddox_gh@tsu.edu

University of Arkansas - Pine Bluff
Dr. George Herts
Interim Dean
Office of Graduate Studies & Continuing Education
UAPB-Slot 4803
Pine Bluff, AR 71601
TEL: 870-575-8316
FAX: 870-575-4632
EMAIL: hertsg@uapb.edu

Dr. Linda Joshua
Professor, School of Education
University of Arkansas at pine Bluff
1200 University Drive
Pine Bluff, AR 71601
TEL:870-575-8246

University of Maryland Eastern Shore
Dr. Jennifer Keane-Dawes
Dean, School of Graduate Studies
University of Maryland Eastern Shore
Child Development Center Suite 1137
Princess Anne, 21853
TEL: 410-651-6507
FAX: 410-651-7571
EMAIL: graduatestudies@umes.edu

University of the District of Columbia
Dr. Beverly Karplus Hartline
Dean of Graduate Studies and Research
4200 Connecticut Avenue NW
Washington D.C. 20008
TEL: (202) 274-7075
EMAIL: bhartline @udc.edu

Virginia State University
Ms. Patricia Randall
Graduate Program Coordinator
Virginia State University
Box 9042
Petersburg, VA 23806
TEL: (804) 524-5385
EMAIL: prandall@vsu.edu

Winston Salem State University
Dr. Fidelis M.Ikem
Dean of Graduate Studies & Rsearch
C017 Anderson Center
601 S. Martin Luther King Jr. Drive
Winston-Salem, NC 27110
TEL: 336-750-2322
FAX: 336-750-3042
EMAIL: ikemfm@wssu.edu

Xavier University of Louisiana

Dr. Marlene C. Robinson
Director, Graduate Admissions & Assistant to the Dean
Graduate School
1 Drexel
New Orleans, LA 70125
TELl: 504-483-5255
FAX: 504-485-7921

Dr. Judith Miranti
Professor, Division of Education
1Drexel Drive
New Orleans, LA 70125
TEL:504-520-5265
EMAIL: jmiranti@xula.edu

Associate Members

Arkansas State University
Dr. Andrew Sustich
Dean of the Graduate School
P.O. Box 60
State University, AR  72467
TEL:  870-972-3029
FAX:  870-972-3857
E-MAIL:  sustich@astate.edu

Clemson University
Dr. J. Bruce Rafert
Dean, Graduate School
E-105 Martin Hall
Clemson SC 29634-5122
TEL: 864-656-4172
FAX: 864-656-5344
EMAIL: jbruce@clemson.edu

Dr. Frankie O. Felder
Associate Dean, Graduate School
E-105 Martin Hall
Clemson SC 29634-5122
TEL: 864-656-1845
FAX: 864-656-5344
EMAIL: frankie@clemson.edu

Duke University
Dr. Paula D. McClain
Dean and Vice Provost for Graduate Education
2127 Campus Drive, Box 90067
Durham, NC 27708
TEL: 919-681-1560
FAX: 919-681-8018
EMAIL: grad-gsa@duke.edu

Dr. J. Alan Kendrick
DAssistant Dean for Graduate Student Development
2127 Campus Drive, Box 90070
Durham, NC 27708
TEL: 919-668-0416
FAX: 919-681-8018
EMAIL: alan.kendrick@duke.edu

Loyola University of Chicago
Dr. Samuel Attoh
Dean,Loyola University Chicago Graduate School
25 E. Pearson Rm. 1252
6525 N. Sheridan Road
Chicago, IL 60626
TEL: 773-508-8948
FAX: 773-508-2460
EMAIL: sattoh@luc.edu

Mississippi State University
Dr. Louis D’Abramo
Dean of the Graduate School
PO Drawer G
Mississippi State, MS 39762-5507
TEL: 662-325-7400
Fax: 662-325-1967
EMAIL: ldabramo@grad.msstate.edu

New Mexico State University
Dr. Linda Lacey
Dean of the Graduate School
MSC 3G-P.O. Box 30001
Las Cruces, New Mexico 88003-0007
TEL: 505-646-2736
FAX: 505-646-7721
EMAIL: lacey@nmsu.edu

Southern Connecticut State University
Dr. Sandra C. Holley
Dean, School of Graduate Studies
Engleman Hall, Room B018
501 Crescent St.
New Haven, CT. 06515
TEL: 203-392-5240
EMAIL: holleyS1@southernct.edu

Texas A & M University
Dr. Robert Webb
Dean of Graduate Studies
Office of Graduate Studies
Room 302 Administration Building
College Station, TX 77843-1113
TEL: 979-845-3631
FAX: 979-845-1596
EMAIL: rickg@tamu.edu

Texas State University
Dr. Paula Williamson
Professor of Biology
601 University Drive
San Marcos, TX 78666
TEL: (512) 245-3312
EMAIL: pw04@txstate.edu

Texas Tech University
Dr. John Borrelli
Associate Academic Dean and Executive Director of Enrollment Management
Box 41033
Lubbock, TX 79409-1033
TEL: 806-742-2781
FAX: 806-742-1746
EMAIL: john.borrelli@ttu.edu

Dr. Ralph Ferguson
Assistant Dean, Graduate School
Box 41033
Lubbock, TX 79409-1033
TEL: 806-742-2781
FAX: 806-742-1746
EMAIL: ralph.ferguson@ttu.edu

University of Florida
Dr. Henry Frierson
Dean of the Graduate School
164 Grinter Hall
PO Box 115500
Gainesville, FL, 32611-5500
TEL:  352-392-6622
EMAIL:  hfrierson@ufl.edu

University of Georgia
Dr. Maureen Grasso
Dean, Graduate School
Boyd Graduate Studies Research Center
320E Clayton Street, Suite 408
Athens, GA 30602-7401
TEL: 706-425-3111
FAX: 706-425-3094
EMAIL: mgrasso@uga.edu

University of North Texas
Dr. James Meernik
Acting Dean
Toulouse Graduate School
University of North Texas
1155 Union Circle #305459
Denton, TX 76203-5017
TEL: 940 -565-2383
FAX: 940-565-2141
EMAIL: tgsdean@unt.edu

University of Texas - Arlington
Dr. Philip Cohen
Dean, Graduate School Vice Provost for Academic Affairs
333 Davis Hall, P.O. Box 19167
701 S. Nedderman,
Arlington, Texas, USA 76019
TEL: 817-272-5164
FAX: 817-272-7149
EMAIL: cohen@uta.edu

University of Texas El Paso
Dr. Charles H. Ambler
Associate Vice-president for Graduate Studies
Administration Bldg, Room 200
El Paso, TX 79968-0566
TEL: 915-747-5491
FAX: 915-747-5788
EMAIL: Cambler@UTEP.EDU

University of Wisconsin - Parkside
Dr. Michele V. Gee
Associate Professor of Management
Assistant to the Provost
900 Wood Road, P.O. Box 2000
Kenosha, WS 53141-2000
TEL: 262-595-2304
FAX: 262-595-2680
EMAIL: michele.gee@uwp.edu

Yale University School of Nursing
Dr. Barbara J. Guthrie
Associate Dean for Academic Affairs
100 Church Street South
PO Box 9740
New Haven, CT 06536-0740
TEL: (203) 785-2399
EMAIL: barbara.guthrie@yale.edu

Partners

Educational Testing Service
Dr. David Payne
Associate Vice-President
College and Graduate Programs
Rosedale Road, Mail Stop 51-L
Princeton, NJ 08541
TEL: 609/683-2014
EMAIL: dpayne@ets.org

UMI Proquest
Marlene Coles, Ph.D.
Partner Relations Manager
UMI Dissertation Publishing
789 E. Eisenhower Parkway
Ann Arbor, MI 48106
TEL: 800/521-0600 Ext. 2589
EMAIL: marlene.coles@proquest.com

World Education Services
P.O. Box 5087
Bowling Green Station
New York, NY 10274-5087
TEL: 212-219-7330
FAX: 212-739-6151
EMAIL: support@wes.org

© 2005 - 2013 Council of Historically Black Graduate Schools
managed by Dinkum Interactive