Home     About Us     Membership     Member Sites     Conferences     Program     Awards     Contact
Strategic Plan
CHBGS Constitution
Membership Application
Conference Registration
PDF Downloads
For Students
Council of Southern Graduate Schools
Council of Graduate Schools
Graduate Deans Summit

Questions relating to the organization and website should be directed to:

Dr. Mary Owens Southall, President
Dean, Graduate School
Coppin State University
2500 West North Avenue
Baltimore, MD 21216



The 52nd Annual Conference of the Council of Historically Black Graduate Schools will be held on February 16-17, 2022 in Raleigh, NC. View details.

2021-2022 CHBGS PROQUEST Awards

The CHBGS will annually grant one Proquest dissertation awards. This award is divided into two discipline areas. Life Sciences and Social Sciences will rotate on a two-year cycle. View the details.

The Council of Historically Black Graduate Schools

The Council of Historically Black Graduate Schools assists member organizations in increasing enrollment, retention, and graduation of African-American students in graduate programs and to prepare them to become future faculty and leaders.

The CHBGS seeks to:
  • enhance the number and quality of graduate courses and degree programs available in HBCUS and in institutions interested in graduate education for African American students.
  • promote the research mission of member institutions by encouraging maximum involvement in scholarly initiatives and by facilitating the dissemination of knowledge concerning African-Americans.
  • support the concept of multiculturalism; however, it recognizes and defends the right of graduate programs at HBCUS to compete equitably for funds to support programs and services in order to promote graduate study among African-American students.
  • ensure the viable representation of historically black colleges and universities at all forums pertaining to American graduate education.

    Membership in the Council of Historically Black Graduate Schools

    Membership is open to all institutions and individuals who possess an abiding commitment to excellence in graduate education and to:
    1. enhancing opportunities for underserved populations to obtain a graduate education
    2. increasing diversity among recipients of master's and doctoral degrees
    3. maximizing opportunities for student learning, growth and development through the sharing of information
    4. expanding social justice through improved educational opportunity
    5. exploring creative solutions to challenges facing graduate schools and graduate programs at HBCUS; and
    6. establishing partnerships, and alliances among individuals and institutions that share these core values.

    Job Postings

    View our latest CHGBS Members job postings to see the latest offerings here.
    Our Members

    Alabama A&M University
    Alabama State University
    Albany State University
    Alcorn State University
    Arkansas State University
    Bowie State University
    Chicago State University
    Claflin University
    Clark Atlanta University
    Clemson University
    Coppin State University
    Delaware State University
    Duke University
    East Tennessee State University
    Elizabeth City State University
    Fayetteville State University
    Florida A&M University
    Grambling State University
    Howard University
    Jackson State University
    Kentucky State University
    Lincoln University (MO)
    Loyola State University
    Meharry Medical College
    Mississippi State University
    Mississippi Valley State University
    Morgan State University
    Norfolk State University
    North Carolina A&T University
    North Carolina Central University
    Prairie View A&M University
    Savannah State University
    Southern Connecticut State University
    Southern University and A&M College
    Southern University at New Orleans
    South Carolina State University
    Tennessee State University
    Texas Southern University
    Texas State University
    University of Arkansas at Pine Bluff
    University of the District of Columbia
    University of Florida
    University of Georgia
    University of Maryland Eastern Shore
    University of North Texas
    University of Texas at Arlington
    University of Texas El Paso
    Winston Salem State University
    Xavier University of Louisiana
    Mississippi State University
    New Mexico State University
    Southern Connecticut State University
    Texas A&M University
    Texas Technical University
    Virginia State University University of Wisconsin at Parkside
    Yale University School of Nursing
    © 2021 Council of Historically Black Graduate Schools